I recently ran across this blog of a girl that has lost over 50lbs and wrote a blog called One Twenty Five to chronicle the process. It was so incredibly inspiring to me. I admire that she was so brave and honest in the writings and the photographs.
Often, I have thought about doing the same for accountability reasons and for support, but I just can't seem to bring myself to post the actual number. You know which number I mean right? That dreaded number shows up between your two big toes when you step on the scale in the mornings. Or at least, I get on it in the mornings because someone told me that the number is always lower in the AM. I feel like I live and die by that particular number. I am so obsessed that I feel like my happiness hinges on it.
A little over a month ago, I began the HCG diet. It worked so well for me even though it is extremely difficult. I began to feel so much better and lighter all the way around almost immediately. Now, I didn't feel as though I had tons of energy or stamina but I felt like I was finally, after immense struggle, getting somewhere in the battle of the bulge. I have lost around 20lbs since the beginning of the year.
During the difficult phase of the diet no one noticed that I was losing except me and eventually Big. He mentioned a few weeks ago that he could really tell a major difference in my thighs. I hadn't gave them much thought being that I normally try to ignore them, but I then noticed that my pants and shorts didn't fit tight in that area any longer. I have a bigger mid section than I would like to have and want so badly for a difference to show there, but I haven't made a whole lot of head way there just yet. I know that 20lbs is quite an accomplishment and I want everyone that I come into contact with to notice, but I am in no way finished. The benefits of clean eating are endless, and I want to continue.
The past week hasn't been great. I somehow have fallen off the wagon. Every single day I have been telling myself that I am going to jump back up and run after that dang wagon. I know that I can possess the will power because I did it for weeks. As much as I love carbs, I didn't die without them the way I thought I would. When I started eating that "forbidden fruit" I just couldn't find the will to stop. I have eaten things this week that I know that I shouldn't but I just didn't seem to care or quit. I have had a few good meals in between the binge eating, but I can tell that it isn't a good thing at all.
You know what? It ends now.
I have got to get back up and do this again. I need to be healthier and skinnier for my body and for my soul. I was proud of my small success but not proud of the way I look just yet. I am going to be in a wedding in March and I just need to be in better shape.
This diet has changed my outlook. Before, I tried different methods and didn't lose any weight at all. You know anybody that started the Akins diet and gained? Well, now you do. I did. And it made my blood pressure jump through the roof. I need to get my bootie to the gym. I think that will be the next phase of my weight loss. Like I said earlier, it is sort of hard to work out when you eat only 500 calories per day.
Work is beginning to settle down. Wait no, I take that back I just think I am beginning to understand all the madness a bit better. I hope that everyone has a wonderful weekend.