Monday, April 20, 2009

The Stand Off

Today, after our morning meeting of the minds here at the lab, I am still confused at why some people are so consumed within their own worlds that they can't see how their actions and words hurt the others around them. At your jobs out there, please be respectful to your co-workers because you never know what they are going through in their personal lives or even within the office itself. I am just as guilty as the next person by assuming I know all the facts while fussing about whatever is going on at that moment. For the most part, I try very hard to see things from all aspects before passing judgement about someone else, but there are many people who think that they are just completely and utterly correct no matter what. These are the kinds of people who are so selfish and self-centered that you could not convince them of anything other than what they are ranting about. The fact that they are wrong is the last thing that they would consider. So many couples around me are going through this right now. The stand-off as I like to call it, because all it needs is 6 shooters and the all familiar western music and it would look exactly like all the movies we have seen. No one is willing to look in the mirror and think what can I do to help or how can I conform a little just to appease and keep everyone moving along nicely. This generation is filled with spoiled rotten kids that are now old enough to be adults, however; lack the ability to behave as such so they constantly are a drain on the individuals that pick up the slack everywhere they go. It just seems that we, and when I say we I mean women, always suffer from an identity crisis. We become involved with a man and suddenly it isn't about what we want anymore, it's all about him and his wants. If you find someone that you care about it doesn't bother you so much or even at all, but if you are with someone that drives you crazy then it's going to be a roller coaster of a nightmare. My best friend is trudging through a muddy relationship right now. She is fighting for her right to be herself and to not be criticised during the process. Men and women, seriously, must be from different planets altogether. I've read men are from Mars and Women from Venus and I am starting to buy it. It's like we all speak a different language from each other. Trying to understand a man's mind is like Greek to me most of the time unless I remember that most of them only think of themselves. There are mythical creatures out there ladies, and I have found one of them. He listens, talks, cares, cooks, cleans, and is just over all pleasant to be around. Now, before you stop reading because you are about to vomit because I have admitted that I have found a gem, please know that he too has issues. He has a very hard time committing his entire self to anyone due to being "burned" in the past. For whatever reason, I have and will continue to try and help him through realizing that there are women out there that care and won't all be the same. Of course I have been burned by guys too and I should learn from my mistakes and try to just leave it all in the past. I made myself a little promise this weekend to work very hard on just trying to leave it all behind me. He really is wonderful and so very sweet. Actually, he took my little sister Taylor and I out for pizza Friday night and we had a blast. She is just crazy over him, and I don't think he dislikes her at all ;) She talked about him constantly for the rest of the night. I know that I am getting off topic so let me get back. I receive calls and have conversations with countless women complaining about all the communication errors that they are having with their men. The funny part is that we the women are raising the men to act this way! We cater to them and ever turn and baby them until they are well past grown up and we pick up after them as though they are completely helpless. Why is that? We expect our daughters to be Superheros and our sons to be the Emperor that is to be waited on like royalty. I have always had a problem with this mentality. Maybe when I have a son I will understand, but for now I simply don't understand why girls aren't treasured the way we used to be. We aren't the weaker sex by any means. Nowadays, we are wage earners equal to if not surpassing men. We are independent and strong all on our own without any assistance from any man. I even know someone who had a child without a man at all. Maybe our society's men should buck up and realize that women as a group are collectively becoming fed up with this type of behavior and are coming to the conclusion that we simply do not need it. The drama itself is crippling. I hate to see her so torn up over a decision that is down to how much crow should she eat before throwing in the towel. Can anybody tell me where the chivalry went? I know I have a sweetie in my life and never was I as thankful as this weekend when I was watching her cry in a phone book while deciding where she should live after leaving him. So, ladies if you have a sweetheart out there and you get a little restless with him, understand that the good ones are very few and even farther in between. Guys out there, try to understand that it isn't all about you!!! We care about you and see some of the behaviors as cute or annoying but we overall are irritated with being treated like we are second rate. Whenever you feel the need to talk to us like we are less than, please stop and reconsider your words. Because whether or not they forget what you say, they will never forget how it made them feel. Sorry that this was so negative. I have listened to her and become just as angry as she has lately even though it isn't me. Mainly, I just think that men in general are strange, LOL. Until next time, don't take the sweeties for granted, because there are many left. Meggie

0 comments:

Post a Comment