Friday, January 22, 2010

Austin

Ladies and Gentlemen, please allow me to introduce the new addition to our family. He is about 15 weeks old, black, fluffy, and has the sweetest little face.

For the past couple of weeks, Big and I have been trying to make a decision whether to adopt little Austin and bring him home to co-exist with our Tucker. Yesterday we traveled over to the Bartlett animal shelter with Tucker in the backseat of the car to meet and let Tucker be the deciding factor in baby Austin.

Immediately after they brought him into the room where we were, minus Tucker at this point, he ran to me and licked me right in the nose. How could I have resisted that? I couldn't. It was love at first sight for me. Big on the other hand, took a few more moments than I but ultimately succumbed to his charms.
Tucker absolutely loves him. He became a parent almost instantly by way of checking on him after every little sound he makes. All last night, Tucker got up and had to check on Austin with every snore or whimper that he made. Of course this made for quite an interesting evening for Big and I. At 11:30pm I took the boys (dogs) into the living room so that they could romp and play without waking up Big. I hoped that if they got this out of their systems that we all could get some much needed sleep in peace. No such luck. Finally, at 1:30am I put Tucker outside for the night. Austin and I headed back to bed soon there after and I got about two hours of sleep before the alarm went off at 5:30am. It was sad and strange getting up without Tucker snuggled up to one of us, but we are still adjusting to the new addition.
Here are some quick things to know about Austin:
He is a lab mix
He lost one eye in an accident
He is very skittish around people
He can't help but piddle when he hears the sound of running water
He isn't scared of Tucker not one little bit
He is adjusting to his new life wonderfully

I am certain there will be many more stories to come. Until next time, wish us luck. We are going to need it!

Wednesday, January 20, 2010

Living with a Man

Yesterday I remembered what the realities of living with a man are, and boy was it a slap in the face. Why can't they see that we are doing the best we can to maintain our jobs, our relationships, our households, our minds and all of these things for them as well?
Let me explain the situation as it was yesterday afternoon. When I got home I noticed that the kitchen was in a bit of disarray but as I studied all of the piles of crap I realized that none of it was my own. Big had eaten cereal and left the bowl in the sink along with two spoons. There was a pan on the stove with hardened bacon grease that has been making me nuts for days on end because it wasn't cleaned up and Big told me that he would take care of it. The only other thing that I want to fuss about right now, is the piles of his mail. For whatever reason, he has decided that the mail isn't important to sort as he gets it. In my mind I compare this to what my Nana used to tell me as a child when we would walk over to the post office to get her mail about leaving her bills in the box because she didn't want to see them yet. Now back then I thought this was funny and I recall wondering why everyone didn't do that when the money got low, but now I feel like we should clear out the mountains of paper that come every single day.

I scanned the room, swept the dog hair out of the floor, then I made a decision. As tired as I was after a stressful day, can you guys believe that I decided to watch a little television? Yep. I surely did. Big comes home on a daily basis and kicks off the shoes and just relaxes.

So imagine my surprise when Big came in and was making a ton of racket in the kitchen as he was "cleaning", not to mention angrily. After a half hour went by, he entered the bedroom where I was huffing and puffing. I asked was he upset and his answer was of course no, but I could tell he was. Finally he expressed that he couldn't stand all the "clutter". I'm sorry, but at that second I was having a WTH??? moment. I thought for a breath and then responded that I do the majority of all the cleaning in the household and I can have a day when I do minimal work. When I spoke up and made my point he shrugged and said, "okay". What? All that pouting for nothing. Men.

Like normal, the disagreement was over in just a few moments because neither of us are the fighting type, so I guess it's all part of the growing pains of living with someone. I love Big but just damn.

Until next time keep your umbrella close to you this week.

Thursday, January 14, 2010

Happy Motoring

Everyday I have to drive a ways to and from work through city traffic and countless stop lights. While doing so I often notice the people around me and their weird behavior while driving and I wonder why they feel the need to do some of the things they do. For instance, this morning I was pulling up to a red light and up ahead of me a woman was lifting a hand weight over and over again. Are you kidding me? How busy are we these days that we have to "lift weights" while driving? I of course could not stop staring at this middle aged woman working and rocking out in the car in front of me.
You guys, I have seen almost everything though. Once on the interstate, I looked over to my right and there was a man reading a newspaper. It was spread out all in front of him where it made it impossible for him to see out of his windshield. Not to mention he was in a jeep and it took both hands to hold the newspaper so he was driving with his knees. When he slowly ventured over into my lane and I honked the horn, he had the nerve to look up shocked that I did it and then just got back in his own lane. I mean heaven forbid I keep you from your paper and coffee while we are all speeding down the interstate.
One morning I was headed down 385 when I saw a car come flying up behind me and then whip past. Not ten minutes later the car slowed done to a pace very close to my own and at that time I glanced over to get a quick look at this lady that was so indecisive about what speed she should take. No lie, she was eating spaghetti with a fork while driving. I kept staring at her as she shoveled the pasta into her mouth as we were going about 65 mph. It was breakfast time, so this was equally repulsive and weird. More importantly, how hard is it for you guys to eat the messy food while sitting still at a table much less in a vehicle as you are driving?
So many things are illegal for people driving in order to protect the drivers and passengers around you, but the things that should be are these things. No one should be allowed to eat a food that requires silverware, or read, or put on make-up, or fix their hair, or work out. At least these things help me to understand why there are so many auto accidents and why people get so angry over it.
What was the funniest/craziest thing you've ever seen someone do while driving?
Until next time, happy motoring and keep your eyes open.

Tuesday, January 12, 2010

Domestication

What is happening to me?
I have never been the domestic type in my entire life even though I knew that one day the skills would come in handy. As most of you know, I have unofficially moved into Big's home with him and Tucker and while this is what every girl dreams of, especially me, it has been interesting on so many fronts. Big is a man that takes his time when it comes to decision making. He chews on something until it is mushy, and without flavor until he feels that he has worked out all the details in his head so that he can make the best choice possible. It took him a year and a half to introduce me to his friends and even longer to allow me to meet his family and don't get me started on letting me be alone in his house.

Now that I have a garage door opener, not a key yet, I am coming a going constantly just like it was my own home. Yay! The house looked like a cave or maybe bachelor's pad is a better label until I began to slowly make some changes. It is steadily beginning to resemble a home.

This past weekend we got a dresser and I can not tell you guys how in need of one we were. As I watched him say ugly words while gradually putting it together and then even more frustrating re-connecting all the electronics as I tried to watch television, I realized that he was and is doing all of this changing for me. I never thought this happiness would be mine for the taking. After the dresser was assembled and placed perfectly in the bedroom, I began to fold clothes and put them into it but I was unaware of where Big went. Little did I know, he had secretly gone into the master bathroom and was cleaning out a walk-in closet. Ladies and gentlemen, I have arrived. I now have my very own closet at Big's house. I quickly started to load it down so that he couldn't change his mind. He seems pretty darn pleased with himself these days because he is making more and more decisions. We are very far from marriage and children, but for now I am so happy that I have my very own closet.

Now, that all sounded pretty darn domestic didn't it. Part of me wonders why decorating excites me much more than that feeling that going out and dancing used to give me. Both of us are just happy to be on the couch watching a football game. You guys heard me right, football. The only thing that plagues me is cooking. I do not cook. Seriously, I have to call my mother to make tuna salad. I mean, hello, how easy is that right? My brand, spanking new co-worker Becca suggested that I should do a recipe a week on this blog. You know, to make an attempt at getting over my anxiety with the kitchen. I even considered decorating it next so that it is much more presentable and homey so that I am more motivated to be in it. I am not sure where to begin.

I have a bad of chicken breasts at home in the freezer right now that I need a plan for. Any ideas?

Last night the Millican family got together to celebrate Priscilla's arrival for a visit with Dee Dee. It was hilarious and quite fun. Big made the comment on the way home that fun in my family is a bit different than fun in his family. I sure hope that was meant in a good way. We had drinks and junk food for the entire night which was a mistake this morning for all of us. We did take the above picture to commemorate the occasion. I love my family even if we are rowdy and loud.
Until next time, anybody have any favorite but simple recipes?

Wednesday, January 6, 2010

Winter Weather Yet Again

Have I ever mentioned how much I absolutely loathe winter? Here we are again, all worrying about the weather and what it is going to do and how we will all get to work. I NEVER drive when there is ice and/or snow on the ground if I don't have to. For the life of my I can't understand why everyone won't just stay home and off the streets because the number of wrecks is astronomical not to mention that is is simply unnecessary. Winter weather, unlike tornadoes, are predicted far in advance but people can't prepare all the same. Tomorrow morning there will be idiots that are desperately trying to get to the gas stations and grocery stores because all of a sudden they realized they were out of the essentials. Please, people, go on and go today and get it over with. I have already graced Kroger with my presence today and on my way home I will stop and get gas even though I already have some. My Mom even tweeted that now that she has properly prepared, nothing will happen. Let's hope so.
Until next time, stay off the roads in the event of bad weather and stay warm and toasty.

Friday, January 1, 2010

Happy New Year

I sure hope that the first day of the year doesn't reflect the rest of it, because I slept pretty much the entire day. We did go out last night, but unlike a bunch of our friends we aren't nursing hangovers. Unfortunately, all the recent stresses and all the crying yesterday with Kyla's departure has caused me to be minus a best friend but plus a cold.
I have been sitting here reading everyone's blogs about their years past and all the resolutions and I feel the need to make some. I seem to always forget about them within a couple weeks of making them so I think that I am not going to name just one. This year much like last year I just want to live in the moment and try hard not to take it for granted. There are a couple of things that I am going to work on such as my spiritual relationship. God and I need to hit the reset button quick, fast, and in a hurry. Hopefully my new co-worker will assist with this task.
Until next time, take care in the weather that is coming and Happy New Year!