For the past several months I have tried to loose some weight so that I could be more comfortable with myself and give my poor little knees a break for a change. After trying pills, starvation, crazy diets, and now running, I am having a very hard time taking it off. I don't have a baby to blame the weight gain on like most women, just ignorance and laziness on my part is at fault. While dating my ex for over four years I forgot all of the rules about not eating heavy after 6pm at night or that Coke will put on about 10lbs a year. Well, in my case probably more because I was drinking several cans of Coke a day along with eating whatever fast food I chose to put into my mouth. Yeah, I know you guys are reading this now thinking, "why is she feeling sorry for herself now when it is so obvious she didn't care at the time?" But I am really regretting how I feel about myself now. Mirrors are no longer my friend and shopping is just out of the question. I used to love to go and by clothes but now I cringe at the thought of having to pass through the doors of a store and then tediously having to try on size after size, ugh it just makes me feel nauseous just thinking about it. Recently I have began to run which is rewarding in it's own way, but with the good comes the bad as well. I have always struggled with my joints over the years and the high impact of the treadmill hasn't been the best experience for me to endure. After some research on the Internet, Dr. Google, I am making some changes to the stretching routine and also the amount of time I spend warming up. It seemed to be helping but for right now I have given it a short break to try and bounce back from some of running's painful woes.Normally, I feel so good that I exercised at all and here lately I have been a little slacker. It's just so dang hard for me to eat all those yucky so called "good for you" foods when really tasty tempting junk food is staring me in the face. And then to get up early in the morning to work-out is just awful. Wait, who am I really kidding there? LOL. Anybody out there that knows me personally knows I ain't getting up early for anything unless it is mandatory and I am normally kicked out of bed even then. (Thanks Big) Anyways, I usually run at night when I get off from work and boy do I have to do it before my bootie hits a chair or the bed because I won't run after that. You guys know what I mean right? Okay, on with my story now.
The point to this rant is that I am not seeing results yet. As a matter of fact, I've gained weight! I am not used to working and not seeing anything happen because back in school when I wanted to loose a little weight I just would stop eating and run. Yeah, it would just fall off no problem then, but now that I am older it just won't cooperate with me. Everything that I have read says do not under any circumstance stop eating altogether because it will stunt the metabolism. Hmmm.... wish someone would have told me that years ago while I was starving myself all through high school. Maybe I jacked it up years ago and am just now starting to get back on track with it. For a long time I didn't even have hunger pains, but now that I have made myself eat breakfast I am beginning to actually get some tummy pains when I need to eat. Also, while doing all of that research no matter where I turned it says NO ALCOHOL! Ummm... Hello.. what kind of summer is that? You know those commercials about people trying to quit smoking but having to re-learn doing everyday tasks? I am so seeing me trying to swim without a margarita in my hand! Yep, I have trained myself into a routine: bathing suit? check. towel? check. pool? check. float? check. Margarita? priceless oh and check! Any suggestions from you guys out there? I am getting very frustrated right now with working and not eating certain things and then.... nothing. There are so many tricks that everyone talks about and I am listening to most of them and giving them so serious consideration, but for the most part I am just trying to change my habits. This probably will be the best thing for me for the most part. I suppose it will take a substantial amount of time to take it off just like it did to put it on. Until next time, wish me luck and if you have helpful tips I would LOVE to hear them.





0 comments:
Post a Comment