How many of you guys read the newspaper? Or get online for the sole purpose of checking a news media of some kind? As nerdy as it sounds one of the most used apps on my Ipod Touch is USA Today because I am a news-o-holic. I love politics and the scandals that surround it. Most people don't enjoy hearing about laws passing or the elections of officials like I do. I think I just like being in the "know" on today's current affairs. If you don't share my love for politics or the news in general I still think we may have one type of media in common. Tabloids. Oh, I love the tabloids. Today I walked into Walgreen's to get some much needed supplies (take my word for it) and I almost made it out without a careless purchase. I layed my selections down and looked over my right shoulder and there it was. US Weekly with Jessica and Nick on the cover. Yeah, I couldn't resist. It just jumped right off the small rack and onto the counter. I love reading about total strangers that through the media we pretend that we've come to know personally. We follow their drama, chastise or praise their wardrobe, judge their taste in men, and pay big money for the first glimpse at their babies.Personally, I can't hardly help keeping up with Jennifer Aniston because I just think she's amazing and has a grace about her to be envied. I almost religiously followed her boyfriends then her marriage to Brad and then the saddest break-up in history. They were America's sweethearts then crashed and burned because he had an affair with a seductive witch. Wait, don't get me started on her. Doesn't even matter because, they sold magazines just like Jessica and Nick do. I love it. It just makes me excited to see a new issue on the shelves and I don't have any issue with the fact that it is probably complete and utter crap. I just always assume that there has to be some truth to some of it otherwise all they would do is print retractions all the time.
I just hung up the phone with Mr. Big and we were talking about it, the Jessica and Nick hope that the tabloids have given us all. He was a fan of the show, yeah you heard me right. He said last night that he thought it would be very romantic if they got together after everything they have been through. Hey Mr. Big, I think there may be a reason they call people hopeless romantics, because there is very little hope to that actually happening. But as I sit here I am sure that there is a possibility. After living my life, I always expect the unexpected especially when it comes to matters of the heart. He just laughed when I said that I thought Tony was never any good for her and that Nick was such a sweetheart. You can make this assumption because y'all have hung out before right? And they would never have a public persona right? He was making good points as he normally does, but I can't help but feel like we do know them. We are there for their every move and tragedy. Hopefully you don't I am crazy for loving this stupid little guilty pleasure and even if you are judging me right now you know that in those check out lines of whatever supermarket you are in you glance over and read all of those covers. You wonder if it's true and then you pick it up and flip through it while waiting your turn with the cashier. I don't know many people who don't at least read the headlines. Why do we care about these people and their lives? Who knows, but we all contribute to this huge empire and love the drama of the celebrities lives. Until next time, have a great day and keep me posted on Jessica and Nick.





0 comments:
Post a Comment